Getting discouraged by job posters

ive been programming now for 5 years and still cant find a job. ive put in hundreds of applications , get calls and emails from recruiters , etc. never land the job. ive been looking for the last year and a half. to see someone code for 4 months , land a job and say “you can do it too just believe in yourself!!!” is frustrating. im not a bad programmer at all. in fact ive built lots of real applications that are used by peoplpe. i dont have a degree i think this is why i get turned down. the success stories i think are 1/100,000
i dont know. i guess those stories make me feel terrible even though im really happy for the person.
sorry for mistake english is not first language

1 Like

@idk don’t give up. Keep trying you will be successful and land a programming job.

I don’t know which language you’re applying in, but if it’s English and all your emails look like your first post, that could be hurting your chances. Not because your English is bad (it’s actually very good), but because most of the mistakes you’re making are things like missed capital letters, incorrect spelling, and incorrect spacing around punctuation.

Other than the last line, I honestly wouldn’t even question that it was written by a native English speaker. What I’d question is the writer’s attention to detail, communication skills, and standard of professionalism.

That could be completely unfair, but it’s a cognitive bias that many people have when they see that kind of “lazy” mistake (i.e. anything that a quick MS Word spelling/grammar check would flag up).

For comparison, here’s your post edited for just that kind of mistake (nothing else):