Getting overwhelmed - challenges with my Gulp build process on the personal portfolio site

Does anyone else get “distracted” working on things that are not HTML, CSS, JS? Does a jr dev need to be able to create a build process for a new project?

I have some experience with development outside FCC. I feel like I should be able to use some tools in my projects. That said I want to complete the course and often get sidetracked on learning relevant things (WordPress, linux servers, etc) that are not where I am on the FCC curriculum.

I will start by saying that Gulp is not a requirement of the personal portfolio project. I usually push my skills outside my comfort zone (maybe too far). I want to use Gulp for all the benefits automating the build process will bring. ( Linting, SASS compilation, local/live environment, minification, CSS pre processing etc.) I think I will be using some kind of build process on the job so it seems like a good skill to learn.

After following automate all the things with Gulp I have a mostly working build process! I understand most of how the build process works. The author responded to one of my comments and helped me refactor the code and “DRY” it out. I dont fully understand how gulp inject changes the Js and stylesheets in the <head> from style.css in my dev files to style.min.css in my deployment files. The comments

<!--[htmlclean-protect]--> // this keeps the commment from being erased during the gulp clean function
    <!-- inject:css --> // This tells gulp-inject where we want our css files to go
    <!-- endinject -->
<!--[/htmlclean-protect]-->
https://github.com/jastuccio/automate-with-gulp

My solution is to use the src non minified files on my server and add a note to my project issues that I am not serving the deployment files. Then go back and fix it sometime in the future.

UPDATE!