Getting Remote Work - Which Language/Technology Should I Learn?

Hi Campers,

I am new to FCC and want to learn to code in a language/technology that will give me the best possible chance of getting remote work. So which language should I choose ? Are there ones that will give me a better chance of getting remote work than others ?

Look forward to hearing your insights, TIA.

AnaCoder

2 Likes

Hey, Ana. If you want to do web development work, and you’re starting from zero, you should pick up HTML and CSS first. You’re going to need those for practically anything you do. If you’re really good with design, you might be able to create and sell some HTML templates on Themeforest or a similar theme marketplace with those skills alone.

Next, you’ll want to learn Javascript for front-end development. This will start to make you valuable as a contractor. Once you have a decent grasp of Javascript, that would be the time to start looking for remote contract work… or even full-time if that’s your preference. (I would recommend starting with contract work though. It’s easier to get and shows potential full-time employers you are battle ready.)

Once you have a good grasp of vanilla Javascript, you’ll want to figure out jQuery (just because it’s everywhere) and maybe pick a Javascript front-end framework to start mastering. React and Vue are hot right now, but Angular wouldn’t be a bad choice either.

6 Likes

Hey raddevon,

Thank you very much for the detailed reply, thats just the kind of info I am after.

A couple of points -

1. Yes i’m starting from zero.

2. Its not so much a matter of “If you want to do web development work…” more like I will take on any remote work regardless of which field, I don’t care if its part-time/contract/temp etc. So bearing that in mind, do you still think html/css is a must have ?

3. Really useful to know about the JS skills for remote work.

Thanks again !

HTML and CSS are the basics. Yes, very important.