Getting started as a freelance web dev + Confidence

Hi,

I’m not a newbie, not exactly anyway. Worked in an IT/programming/testing job for a couple of years almost a decade ago - using Java in general, although I don’t recall too much other than basic concepts now.

Since then I’ve been through business school, worked in sales and marketing for a Telecom firm, in a product management sort of role, and then transitioned to a project management role at a small firm that did apps and websites.

I’ve been doing the latest for the last 4 years - and the last 5 months have been freelance but doing the same work for the same firm (part-time).

Somewhere along the line in this role, I realized
a. I have an affinity for the coding side of things, rather than project management, and I found my self digging into problems that the developers were facing.
b. Looking at the coding quality, and end product that we were able to achieve, I was pretty sure that I could do it better, but I wasn’t able to influence this in the team due to both lack of knowledge.

I tried to learn on the side, but time constraints (and I suspect some amount of laziness on my part) did not let me do so. So, I ended up quiting the full time role, to put more time into learning, with the aim of getting into freelance web development for my self.

I’ve dug into HTML, CSS, JavaScript and a little bit of custom WordPress through FCC, Udemy tutorials, and general Googling. My concerns are

1. I could easily spend years on learning, without ever getting the full hang of a technology. At what point would you say that you’ve learned enough HTML, enough CSS, enough JS to be able to create simple marketing websites for clients?
  2. And over time expand into full stack work? What would you say is needed in order to create a full system, with front end and back end work involved?