Gonna ask my boss to switch me to part time... Need advice

Hello everyone,

A little background about me and my issue: I currently work as a digital marketer for an advertising agency. I primarily run PPC campaigns, create web content, and occasionally build landing pages for our clients. I’ve been trying to be a front end developer over the past 3 years, on and off, because I was scared I couldn’t do it.

That all changed when I worked in this agency. I was the first hire and work directly with the CEO. This is also the time where I got involved in some web development tasks: creating landing pages, building wireframes, and even project management with our fellow devs.

Now I’ve regained the courage to continue my transition towards a web developer, but I feel I’m not dedicating enough time to learn. Hence I’m thinking of asking my boss if I could switch to part time so I can allocate more hours to learning. I’m currently spending 1 - 2 hours, 6 days a week - halfway through the algorithm scripting challenges. Going part time will allow me to spend more time coding.

My problem is that I already built a good relationship with the CEO, and he’s positioning me to be a project manager in the future. Asking this from him may ruin that relationship; he will already know my intent to someday move away from the job.

Has somebody else done this? Would appreciate any advice you can give. Thanks you so much!

I think you are really the best person to judge in this case and nobody can really help you because it depends entirely on your personality, your relationship with your boss, and whether or not you can afford to quit and learn full-time if going part-time is not an option and things blow up with your boss.