Got a frontend developer job!

Hi everyone,

After a lot of hard work, I’m glad to tell you that I finally got a Front-End Developer job!! :tada::champagne:

Next month I will start at an IT-consultancy firm that specializes in web development. They will place me at arguably the biggest retailer in Belgium.

I am so glad that I can share my story here and tell you a little about my journey. Hopefully, this will encourage people to keep working hard and keep aiming at their goal of becoming a developer.

My background

Currently I am 28 years old and as far as education goes, I studied economics and hold a bachelor’s degree in SME management. I got former jobs as a purchaser and currently still work in supply chain.

Soon enough, I figured out I didn’t want to spend my entire life in this field and thought a lot about what I wanted to do professionally. I believe I developed an interest in IT because of my first full-time job purchasing IT-hardware and decided I wanted to go in that direction. I never had any real real programming education before. Funny fact is that until approximately 1.5 years ago, I wasn’t able to properly type with all fingers :joy: .

Point is that I really had to learn everything for scratch. But I believe when your passionate about something and you know your goal, you can make it work.

The road to becoming a Front-end Web Developer

I tried studying networking first but found it to theoretical. Web development seemed a better entry point to find a job in IT. I also found out that a lot of resources were available. I am glad to say that I eventually became passionate about web development and really enjoy learning it.