Got my first dev job in less than a year

Hello everyone!

I don’t usually post in forums, but I really wanted to thank FCC, @QuincyLarson, and @brianamarie for helping me change the course of my life. I can’t believe it’s been less than a year and I’ve found a job as a webmaster/web developer.

I started programming (absolute zero knowledge) in Nov 2016 here on FCC. I wasn’t even sure if I’d like it or be good at it, but I wanted to try it out. I was immediately interested and kept going at it. At the time, I was finishing my bachelor’s degree in Exercise Science which I love, but my interests were changing. I was doing both, FCC and Exercise Science, even though they felt like two completely different worlds. I’m sure I can combine both one day.

Along the way, I supplemented my learning with other online resources and Treehouse; however, FCC was always my ‘home base’ that I could return to when things were unclear or scattered.

I started getting more serious in May/June and started actually building the front-end projects. Each project seemed like a huge mountain to climb, but they were all fun and taught me so much along the way. I truly believe that the projects are the best way to learn and solidify what you’ve learned. During this time building projects, I was also applying to jobs, even though I probably wasn’t ready for that. I was eager lol.

In late June/August, I kept looking for a development-related job and I got my portfolio looking ready. All of my projects are basic, but I was hoping it would convince employers that I have the potential to learn. [I’m still working on the front-end certificate.]

I applied for hundreds of jobs, probably, and never heard back from most of them. I finally got an interview for a start-up company in Sarasota, FL – I thought it went well, but I was not offered the job. I was still thankful for the interview experience.