Got my first dev job!

After 18 months of learning to code, I just landed my first dev job with a small agency. They build websites, web apps and hybrid mobile apps. I’m really excited about it. But also a little anxious. Another junior started there a few weeks ago so I have someone to grow / feel dumb with!

My interview process was stupidly straightforward. I applied, linked them to my site, and was invited in for an interview on Friday. The interview lasted about 20 minutes and on Monday was offered the job :smiley: Reading that job offer email felt AMAZING.

I studied politics at university, and had no idea what to do after graduation. I loved computers, but figured learning to talk to one would be an insurmountable task. And yeah, it was definitely the hardest thing I’ve done, and pretty much the first time I’ve really applied myself to something and stuck at it.

Now I have a promising career which I’m really excited about. I feel so lucky and so optimistic about the future. So for anyone else out there who is doubting themselves (story of my life), keep working hard because it will pay off!

47 Likes

Thanks for taking the time to post here James.

What did you study during those 18 months?

Good work! Always good to hear a success story (especially after a Friday night of frustrating job applications…)

1 Like

Feelings motivated after listening your story.As you said you just stick on coding and after 18 months you got a job.From your story I learned that Hard work+focusing on one thing till the end can make us successful in any any field

1 Like

Congrats @jamesgraham . I’m just starting out so I have some good things to look forward and a reminder to stick with it.

Congratulations. Glad to hear that your 18 months of hard work payed off. @jamesgraham I am always curious to know about other people’s learning process. What can you tell us about how you learned, what decisions you made on what and how to study and so on?