Got my first iOS (Swift) Developer Job

Hi there!
a few month ago I got my first developer job as a Developer for iOS Apps in Swift.
The funny thing about that: I did not actively searched for a job when the offer came. I experimented a little bit with iOS developing ~1,5 years ago and put that on my portfolio website and on my Xing-profile. A few weeks ago I was messaged via Xing chat and was asked if I am still interested in programming Swift. I had a nice phone interview that felt very natural, a few weeks later I got a contract and my first project to work on.
Right now, it is a part-time job because I am also studying right now (finishing my master’s programme). The job is fully remote and when I am finished, there is the option to dive right into full-time.

In fact I did not do a lot of courses at freeCodeCamp. I worked very long on my portfolio because I had a lot of fun tweaking stuff and programming small JavaScript stuff for it.

A portfolio programmed and designed by yourself is a very valuable piece of code for a newcoming developer I think. Besides the possibility to show off small newcomer projects, more important in my opinion is to show off the portfolio as a meaningful project itself.
I had quite a good overview of HTML, CSS and some JavaScript before but I did not work on any bigger projects. In general I do have trouble with learning programming skills without any “real” project. Therefore the idea of building a portfolio from ground up was a very valuable experience.

The portfolio made a quite good impression during the phone interview for my current job, because I could just reference to it. I also got a quite nice and short top-level domain for it. The portfolio also helped me finding an industrial project partner for my master’s thesis :slight_smile:

Lessons I have learned so far:

• Start your own projects (e.g. portfolio)