Having a difficult time finding a Web Dev job, how can I improve?

Having a difficult time finding a Web Dev job, how can I improve?

I’m self-taught with no degree. I’m considering enrolling in a local community college to get started with my associates. How else can I improve? Do I need more projects? Should I learn different tools? I’m located outside the Phoenix metro area and I cannot relocate but I would consider remote work.

The applications you’ve built aren’t styled - it’s kind of barebones with just bootstrap.

Are you looking for front end or back end work?

Definitely more back-end.

While applications you’ve built demonstrated some level of understanding how the backend works the majority of positions will require more knowledge.

Try building a CLI in Node.js to stream data using duplex streams or better yet learn Go for back end web development.

Back end web development typically involves Docker for containers and Go/RubyOnRails/Python Django/ASP.net etc for the API. Try building your app to run as a docker file for deployment.

Learning Go and Docker will set you up for success in Backend development.

I don’t know if I agree that back end development is mainly in Go. In term of sheer volume of jobs, Java, Asp.Net(C#) is probably still the market leader and will be for quite some time. It depends on the field.

On a similar note, NoSQL databases like Mongo.DB are popular for online courses because they are easy to set up and go, and the start-ups and tech companies may very well rely on them for the scalability. However, for reliability, most enterprises still heavily relies on relational databases, therefore the market for SQL as a skill still far outpaces any specific NoSQL databases.

However knowing virtualization and container technology is a major plus. Microservice architecture is an important concepts in a lot of companies that has large systems and containers like Docker are absolutely crucial.