Having an About section that appeals to others

I know how to write an About page. What I’m not good at is writing an About page that appeals to others. Do you guys have any tips?

I have had the same dilemma.

I settled on a less is more, portfolio content is king type of arrangement. Still haven’t thought of anything useful to put in it yet though.

I just thought to myself what would a potential employer or client want to know about me.

If it were me choosing a developer I wouldn’t care what they were into, nor their life story. I’d just want to know if they could do what I wanted done and do it well. And be able to see lots of examples of work. I would appreciate a little bit of straight to the point about me text, so i had at least a good idea of how much of the process the developer could do for me or where they might fit in my team.

I think this way you set yourself up in a more professional manor for a meeting or Skype or something with a potential job.

Might not be everyone’s cup of tea though :slight_smile:

Cheers

Mark

2 Likes

I have the insurmountable problem of being a mind-numbingly boring person, so this was also a challenge for me. Much like @MARKJ78, I had to put myself in my potential employer’s shoes to give just enough information to be hire-able without oversharing or offering irrelevant tidbits. There are, I think, 3 major points to hit on:

1. Where (generally) you live - Interested parties may need to know which time zone you’re in, at least.
  2. Which tech you are most interested in - You should probably mention what you like to do the most. Note, this doesn’t mean you should list every language you’ve written “Hello, world” in, but where your strengths lie.