Help needed starting the portfolio challenge

Long story short: I need help for the portfolio challenge.

But that’s not really a lot of information right? Let me explain a little:
I’m NEW to web developing/web design, and I don’t know how to do a personal portfolio page. The code itself is not that big a hassle, it’s more about the concept and the visuals.

Let me explain even further.
I don’t know what to do, really. I don’t know how to arrange the page, I don’t know how to make it look clean and not a mess. I’m stuck. I don’t really know what to do.

The example they show is gorgeous, and I don’t know how to make something like that,
And English is not my first language, so I don’t really know how/what to search on google. I’m really lost.

Can someone help me? Maybe a little how-to basic guide, just to get started, so I could keep going? Maybe some useful links?

Any help, really, is appreciated.

Cheers, hope someone helps me :smiley: and good learning ^^

1 Like

You don’t need to make up your own concept. Try making the same page as in the example portfolio. For the visuals you simply can use placehold.it for now. If it’s the first page you’ve ever made, keep it simple.
You can search for tutorials in youtube like this https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=basic+bootstrap+tutorial

Good luck!

1 Like

What helped me when I got stuck with layout was to come and see on the forums what other people were doing. Not looking at their code so much (because it is important for me to figure it out myself) but to look at their presentation and to gather ideas about what I liked or didn’t like about the different pages I saw.

I’m not saying you should copy somebody else directly, but where it comes to design, the concept of a ‘visual library’ is very important. And the way to build a visual library is to look at as many different examples of things as you can. So the portfolio projects of the many different campers on the forum is a good place to start.