Help on getting started with Portfolio, Feeling stuck

Hi everyone, This is my first time posting and I’ve been having a lot of fun with FCC so far. I’ve found that it feels like quite a jump for me from the other challenges to this one. I already did the basic javascript challenges and really had a lot of fun doing them, but the portfolio is very difficult for me. I feel like there’s just so much I should know, or need to know but don’t. For example I’ll look up how to make a header fixed in position, but this opens up a whole new can of worms of a million other things I need to understand before I understand how that works. I feel like it’s almost just a general lack of CSS knowledge. I’d like some suggestions on how to best continue, should I just push through and try to figure everything out (which to me seems like a very daunting task, and has caused me to put off doing this challenge) or is there another tutorial online I could do to supplement my CSS and other knowledge?

Option A:

Basic CSS Flexbox

You could watch some basic CSS tutorial like this one by net ninja on youtube link.
It takes about an hour or two, you should able to create a basic layout after finishing these basic tutorials, then you could build your portfolio upon them.

Option B:

Bootstrap

Bootstrap is a html CSS based framework to build web page layout easily.
another tutorial series by netninja link.
You could create a more complex portfolio site without the need to tweak all the CSS details. That’s what I did for lots of my FCC front end project.

1 Like

Resources I can recommend: