[Help] Stepping up my back end workflow skills: url-shortener as example

Hello coders!

I am pretty new to back end and so far but I have the feeling that I am approaching this project tin the wrong way.
I am curious especially about the “ideal” workflow and how a project is supposed to look, behave and interact with the user.

I am gonna take my url-shortener as an example for this.

In creating my project(s) so far all I did was creating

*server.js file that handles the requests and responses.
*index.html that contains a plain basic html with the program explanation.

But when I look at other repos on Github, I can see that many of my favorite libraries and project contains multiple folder, with multiple .js files.

Another big issue I had with this project was hiding my username and password from the public Github repo.
My workaround has been creating a config.js file that has been added on the .gitignore; but then creating a different branch on github where this file is not hidden for the actual deployment on Heroku.

Are there better practice / techniques to deal with this?

So I am curious about the best practice and ideal workflow when dealing with back-end in order to write a good readable code accessible to all the interested peoples.

Here the Github Repo.
Here the live app.

p.s. I am aware of the existence of this wiki articles on the forum; I am just curious about you real life experiences.

<3 Thanks all and as always happy coding <3

1 Like

I’m not expert enough to answer this with any real authority, but these are the same issues I was dealing with around the time I made my URL shortener, too. In fact, after someone on Gitter told me mine was a mess, I started again from scratch and completely redid it!

There are two main parts to your post, so I’ll try and address them both.

Firstly, the easy one: Hiding your private info when you push a repo to GitHub.