Help with tribute page - positioning

Hello all,

So this is a super basic question I think, but I’m just starting out. Forgive the messy code, I’m sure I will get better!

Here is the link to my Codepen Tribute Page: http://codepen.io/courtneylorenz/pen/WpwOBP

I’m pretty happy with my page except that I can’t get my sidebar hamburger to be the same length as the jumbotron element.

First, I tried making them both the same height with height: 100em for both elements. That worked great, except that the tables were not responsive and the elements would overlap each other when the page was shrunk.

I managed to solve this problem by making the jumbotron element height: 100% - awesome, now everything adjusts! Unfortunately, setting the big sidebar hamburger to height: 100% does not seem to accomplish this and I can’t find a way to make it align perfectly to the jumbotron’s size without the ‘hard’ set height that screws up the inner jumbotron content.

Maybe I’m being too pedantic and should just set them both to height: 100em and move on, accepting some occasional table squishiness depending on size? If that’s the answer, I’ll take it.

Any other feedback is welcome too. Thank you!

Setting the image and the td element to 100% height works but you need to reposition the footer text. Also the image gets stretched a lot.

Also, it’s better to use divs instead of tables for layouts.

I did try to do divs at first, but I couldn’t make anything line up and gave up. Tables make more sense to me (edit: meaning, I understand them better, not that I thought they were a better fit for this project.) I will try to force myself to use divs for the Portfolio project so I can better understand them. Thank you so much!