Hi! I'm a 2018 FCC Top Contributor new to the FCC Forums! :)

Actually, just kidding—I’ve been lurking creepily around here learning about all of you and your struggles for a while now. But it’s time to come out of the shadows. :slight_smile: So I’ll introduce myself, because I plan on posting and actually responding here now with what I know!

I’m Nicole, and I’m a front-end developer. I used to work in Customer Service until 2015, when I lost my job and decided to teach myself to build websites. 3.5 years later, I’ve started a blog, had my first dev job, freelanced, started a podcast, and now have planted myself in educational technology and e-Learning.

I’m not even an amazing developer. I’ve worked through Treehouse, FCC, Coursera, Udemy, W3Schools… but I’m also a cautionary tale when it comes to building projects. I was learning fast enough to get hired by 6 months in if I had just built more alongside learning. At the end of the day, it was my knowledge and willingness to learn that even got me my first job.

You may have seen me on #CodeNewbie chat, too. Indeed, I show up there fairly regularly, and host my own Twitter chat #CodersTeachingCoders (ugh so long) on Weds nights at 7PM. Anyone teaching or learning coding is welcome to discuss fun topics and get to know others in the industry!

I do a lot offline for the community, as well. Quincy awarded me Top Contributor status this year for organizing and facilitating the MetroWest MA freeCodeCamp group for a little over 2 years now. I’m so blessed to be a part of an amazing community of brilliant people. And it’s absurd that I’m just making my official appearance here now, because I should have done this years ago.

So what do I do now? I just launched my first “prep” course for self-taught web development career changers.