How to build a portfolio as a freelancer new to the market

I have about 10 years experience working in web development agencies as a Project Manager/User Researcher.

2 years ago I decided to move into a technical role and did an MSc in Computer Science at a well-respected university. I graduated near the top of the class. I learned HTML, CSS, JavaScript, MySQL, bash, Java and built and android app. I have no professional experience as a programmer, but have a good educational grounding and all of my project management experience.

I’ve since had to move to a remote part of the country for my husbands work. There are no jobs available locally, and it’s not feasible to commute (travel and childcare combined are more than I would earn).

I’ve decided to try and establish myself as a remote freelancer (in app/web development), but I have no portfolio and need to build one. I don’t care if I have to work for free to do that, but how do I go about finding projects that are portfolio worthy?

I’ve tried lots of not-for-profit job boards but no one seems to want volunteers to get involved in web/software stuff.

Can anyone advise?

Thanks in advance.

2 Likes

What I would do for the beginning is maybe try getting some Website Designs and implementing them on your own. It would be a learning experience and also something you could put into your portfolio.

I had a bunch of them on my website and it worked out well… It doesn’t have to be very sophisticated, but if it looks nice, it will definitely help.

Try going on specific niches like: mobile app landing page, recipes app (multi pages), a blog app layout (doens’t have to have a backend, you could even use Gatsby and Netlify to host it for free - I did that on my blog)

So the main points would be: Build, Build, Build… Even the projects from FreeCodeCamp could work if you put some effort in to make them look nice. I saw once a portfolio of such projects and was just lovely (can’t find the URL now).