How to land that first role / gig?

Good afternoon to all who are thumbing through this. I’ll try and make this post terce as possible but I’m not going to promise anything. I have been on the outside looking in for my first development job for what seems to be an eon now. I’m a self taught polyglot developer who has written an app, built several web applications, and contributed to open source projects where I know how. I’ve uploaded resumes to job boards, been solicited by recruiters, and I reach out to them, and for whatever reason I either can’t seem to get an interview, let alone a position as a software developer / engineer. Now I know I’m not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but are companies only hiring drop-in rockstars who hit the ground running? I mean is the junior developer position still a thing?

The important things to me aren’t even related to finances of being software developer, but at some point I genuinely had a passion for software development, and learning new technology. However, I can’t help but feel discouraged because of the outcome of the job search. What’s important to me is that I work around people where each other’s company is welcome.

As someone who has struggled with mental health, I can’t help but think that is why a company would not want to hire me. Do companies hire people with disabilities in a software development position? I’ve seen success stories posted on this forum, so I can only hope fellow campers can lend a hand. Thanks for reading through my rant, and I hope everyone has a great weekend.

cheers
Chris

1 Like

Well, first of all, I’d say that there are a lot of threads on this topic with a lot of advice - I might check all of those. link link link link link link link

Read these, do some google searches. This subject comes up a lot and it’s always the same advice. There are a lot of great articles on the internet.