How to not get discouraged

so i peaked at the answer to the current problem i was working on because i was absolutely dead stuck, i hate having to do that but i was completely lost.

after looking at the answer i realized there was probably no way i could have figured out that solution, but i wasnt too far off from having mine like the 2 advanced solutions of it.

1 Like

I know how this goes. I do the same.

ive only had to peak at 2 of them so far so i guess thats not too bad

Not bad. I am new to coding and need to view answers to a lot of similar problems to learn to solve them.

im fairly new also haha

I don’t think it’s necessarily a bad thing to refer to the answers when solving problems. I come from a scientific background, and I would wager 90% of us would never have passed the classes without consulting solutions manuals. :grin:

Similarly, almost every problem you would encounter as a working programmer has been solved before, probably long ago. The important thing will be your skills in researching a solution and integrating it into the project at hand, saving your employer both time and money.

I’m not saying, of course, that you shouldn’t make an effort to strengthen your problem-solving muscles. You definitely should. But much like getting into good physical shape, these things take time to improve. Don’t beat yourself up if you can’t get it initially. Attempt to solve more problems and gradually you’ll begin to devise a solution in your head before even touching the keyboard.

3 Likes

If you’re copying answers so you can blow through the map and exercise with the primary goal of getting your FCC certificate within a few days or weeks, then you’re only cheating yourself. It’s your own loss.

But if you’re looking at the answers to learn, to see the pattern, to get an idea of how it was solved – AND you’re learning something new in the process, then I see nothing wrong with that.

EVERY programmer has learned from looking at other people’s code.