How to stay motivated?

Hello, my name is Gibson and I have been learning front end development for about 2 months now, recently started FCC and i am loving it. I am beginning to stall with my knowledge and it is causing me to be less motivated and I need help. What keeps you all going?

for me, a better future life to work as programmer.

2 Likes

Man, there are so much to do and learn that you will will be overhelmed with amount of things that you can’t and didn’t do yet for next 10 years :D.

Read this great article on motivation vs discipline and get back to work, I would go for some challenging FCC project ;).

5 Likes

Don’t just read bro. Its important you create things, no matter how small. nothing beats watching what you create come to life.

Also, id suggest you sign up for some charity organisation gig. when you see how much you can help with the little you know, then you start imagining whats possible, that in turn gears you up to keep at it.

And if all that doesn’t work, scroll through some job platforms like Indeed after seeing the average salaries and job pecks :joy: trust me, the motivation will come :wink:

4 Likes

Think of what your life will be like further down the road, and think about where you’ve come from on your journey. Switch up your environment, redecorate your study space, take a laptop out and sit in the sun while learning etc… go to a library, these all help a ton.

Just keep going at it, even if it’s for ten minutes a day, and you will build up a habit.

1 Like

Keep Coding and you will get Motivated. Do code everyday atleast for 10 mins. And always appreciate yourself for your small achievements. Celebrate everytime when your code works. :smiley:

Good point to code a bit each day, but if you are feeling burnt out from learning then do something fun with the code. As mentioned, create something because you want to.

1 Like