How to use local storage in react

Hi,

I am new to react. let me explain the issue I am facing,

I am saving some user info for the user when the user logs in and I am retrieving that info from the local storage.

The issue I am facing is that when I am that component I am able to retrieve the value but if I am inside the application I need to repeat that code in every component.

Is there any place in the react lifecycle which always gets called despite the component I have requested so I can retrieve the values there.

Thanks

I’m not sure how “correct” my answer is but I have a few suggestions (from personal experience) that you may want to consider having a component higher in the hierarchy in your app handle authentication in its componentDidMount life cycle and storing whatever you need in localStorage.

How high in the hierarchy depends on whether or not anything below it requires access to the data you are storing in localStorage. This way you can make sure that whenever there is a page refresh on pages that require access user data, your app will retrieve the newest information and store it in localStorage

An alternative to using localStorage is to use a state container like Redux, which works equally well from personal experience.

I have NOT been formally trained on cyber security and the following comment is simply based on personal experience with React, Redux, Node and Passport; please take it with a grain of salt and do your own research (or ask an expert).