How to write JSON get requests (Weather Project)?

Hello,
I am currently working on the current weather project, but I have a couple of questions. First off, I am unsure how to structure the JSON get requests in order to bring in the data from the api. Secondly, I have seen other users say that the open weather api doesn’t work with codepen, so I was thinking of using this api instead https://developer.forecast.io/docs/v2#forecast_call . The only thing is that the documentation mentions the names of the data attributes, but I am not experienced enough yet to see how to properly access this data with json/jquery. I have been extensively googling for a while, but I still haven’t found any resources that talk about how to set up requests for a given api; they only show the format of the data, but never any request syntax. Can someone help me with the syntax required to make general requests? Any specific hints to either of the apis mentioned would also be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

First thing with the weather project - codepen does work with OpenWeatherMap; it does not work with navigator.geolocation. (See my answer here for more info).

The JavaScript api gives you simply an object, and you can treat it as such. Ex:
{
test1: value;
test2: value;
}

To access the api use the jQuery method (FCC challenge):
`

$.getJSON(url + apiKey, function(json) {
      // code here
  });`

the function argument “json” in this case is the api object that is parsed and returned. Now you can modify this object like you would any other object ex.
`

$.getJSON(url + '?lat=' + lat + '&lon=' + lon + "&appid=" + apiKey, function(json) {   
    var temp = json.main.temp; //unit is kelvin
  });`