HTML Cirriculum

I’m new to computers: I’ve done construction and, before that, military service for my 32 year professional life. I grew up very close to Homestead road and Lawrence expy in Santa Clara; the heart of it all. I’m too old to build houses anymore, so I turn to the work that brought my father a living: writing code.

I JUST started the HTML curriculum and I can’t seem to advance in the tutorial. My code is correct: I know this because I watched the video after failing to move on. I run the tests. Nothing happens. The tutorial will not advance me automatically. Am I missing something?

I’m a smart guy, albeit uneducated, yet I can’t seem to grasp what, if anything, I’m doing incorrectly…
Some assistance, please.

1 Like

Hey @UNIXSon. Can you post the challenge which is giving you problems?

It’s the very first one!

<h1>Hello World</h1> 

I am quite the dilettante when it comes to computers.

I’ve edited your post for readability. When you enter a code block into a forum post, please precede it with a separate line of three backticks and follow it with a separate line of three backticks to make easier to read.

See this post to find the backtick on your keyboard. The “preformatted text” tool in the editor (</>) will also add backticks around text.

Note: Backticks are not single quotes.

markdown_Forums

Are you by any chance using Edge, IE, or Safari as your browser? Free Code Camp has been updated to use newer technologies. It makes the application much faster and it means that we can go much longer without having to do a huge migration like the recent one. However, Edge, Internet Explorer, and Safari are very bad about choosing not to adhere to standards and support new functionality in JS and CSS. Right now, that means that these browsers exhibit lots of unexpected behavior. If you become a web developer you will come to hate these browsers with every fiber of your being.