}
  .red-box {

background: var(--red-color, red);
    height: 200px;
    width:200px;
  }
</style>
<div class="red-box"></div>

Link to the challenge (Please delete the @ for the address, since I am a newbie here the system is not allowing me to include links) :
“https@@://learn.freecodecamp.org/@@@responsive-web-design/@@basic-css/improve-compatibility-with-browser-fallbacks@@@”

Also the Hint option is also not working.
I have searched for the solution here and there but did not find any.

1 Like

You just need to add a normal background: red; declaration before the one using the variable (on the empty line above background: var(--red-color, red);).

2 Likes

You just need to add a background declaration to give a background color in the way you would do if you didn’t know about variables

2 Likes

I did a search of the FCC forums on June 18, 2019 for .red-box fallback and I got 125 results. There is obviously a problem with the lesson since most responses try to give the answer but most fail. FCC, for some unknown reason, is being very terse here. The CSS lessons start out using attributes like background-color but when one begins learning CSS variables FCC begins to use the shorthand background without warning or explanation. It is used and the tests expect you to use it the same way. In the real world background-color will work as an acceptable fallback. The syntax for the shorthand background follows. Note that background has been shortened to bg.

background: bg-color bg-image position/bg-size bg-repeat bg-origin bg-clip bg-attachment initial|inherit;

It is not necessary to use every attribute.

1 Like

I think part of the problem is also that there is no video or hint for the challenge. Which I’m guessing a lot of people at this point in the learning process still partially depend on. It looks like there is a guide article but the challenge does not link to it.