I don't feel right doing this

So I’m working on my tribute page. I’ve made it up to this point following the map with relative ease (I have some previous knowledge with HTML/CSS). Now I’m on Codepen and I find myself looking at other people’s tribute page’s code. Is this OK? I’m not copying and pasting, just using it as a guide because honestly, I don’t have the knowledge of the various classes and commands I should use. The only ones I’m aware of are those taught here. I just don’t feel right or feel like I’m learning the right way, but I’m not sure any other way to do it. Anyone have any opinions or suggestions?

I personally think that you shouldn’t look at the code of a project you haven’t finished yet—particularly with the “earlier” projects in the curriculum—and it’s great that you are questioning yourself.

I think most people can’t avoid “copying” something that they like. You may see a nice Bootstrap class called jumbotron in other people’s portfolio and decide to use it when, in fact, it’s just an abstraction of a bunch of fundamental DOM elements that you should really know and code from scratch if you want to become a good developer.

Reinventing the wheel may be a concern here, but it should be the least of your concerns when you are just starting out, not least because if you don’t learn your basics you will end up wasting your time later on trying to figure out why something doesn’ work (and perhaps even give up on coding).

It’s perfectly fine to let your projects be ugly when you are learning. This workflow may help:

• Plan basic layout and/or functionalities on a piece of paper (or your tablet)—don’t go overboard and plan every little thing because it’s a waste of time, your might as well start coding if you are writing down the logic of a form submission
  • Create the skeleton of your page with <div>s (or any other appropriate elements of your choosing), make sure that everythingis positioned as you intend them to be