I got a job! At last!

I got a job! At last!

Just wanna thank Quincy and the FCC community for the motivation. A bit about me… I’m a self taught dev (as many of us are) with no CS background, no CS degree… My degree is in Music, which I planned on getting into teaching several years ago. That didn’t work out, so I worked other menial dead end jobs to make ends meet. For several years I was feeling lost, insecure and directionless.

Thankfully I discovered FCC in Nov 2016. From then until now, 2 and a half years on, I basically learned on and off. There were months where I would learn and code day by day, and there were months where I would not code at all. Regardless of how my journey went on a daily basis, I felt a great sense of purpose learning. I felt the difficulties of balancing a full time job where I was made to do overtime that I did not want to do. Despite that, I persisted. I knew I wanted this and I would like to encourage those who feel constrained in their learning by life commitments like having a full time job, having a family or any other urgent duties that it is ok to take your time. Everyone is different and has different circumstances that make things easier/more difficult for them to learn to code. The key thing to always remember is one step a day is better than no step at all.