I Got an Interview! ... What to expect? (Edit: Questions I was asked are listed with articles on the answers)

Hello fellow campers,

So I’ve been studying Web development for 6 months now (not much thru FreeCodeCamp) and I’ve finally decided it’s time to start applying for jobs.
I got my first interview for a Front-End Developer position. It was my first interview ever in the IT field and even thu I read so much online on how to prepare, my anxiety and panic got the best of me. I could say that I did really really bad. They asked technical questions / how to approach designing and developing certain projects. I can’t state enough how badly I did.
Today however, they said they are very interested in me being one of their team and they invited me for a paid 3 days trial to test my skills since I’m lacking in certain areas.
I believe the reason why they thought I got potential is that:
A) I showed them some projects I did
B) I was honest about what I know and what I don’t know and showed interest in always learning what I don’t and interest in always improving myself.

I can share the questions they asked if anyone is interested.

I have another interview on Saturday 2/06 but it’s going to be on Skype. It’s for the same position but the different company of course. Anyone knows what to expect in Skype interviews? Do they still lask technical questions or just introducing themselves and me as well?

10 Likes

Congratulations on your successful interview!

I have an upcoming interview and would love to know the questions you were asked.

From what I read, video interviews are usually just to get to know you and measure your competencies to determine if you’re the right fit for the position. They usually don’t get too technical.

Congrats on your interview. Good luck on the next one.

PS. Please check out my post and leave a reply

Hey Hassan,

Thanks for the info! I think so too but just in case I’ll study a bit.