I got my first dev job. Thanks FCC

Hey guys, I think it’s important for me to share my story because it may motivate some of you.

I’m brazilian, 28 years old, and I had no background in coding. 'Till now, I’ve been working as a bank teller , for 4 years, and I hated it, so I left my job to try something else before I get too much old lol.

So I decided to become a developer exactly in july, 18, after watching this video. I made a commitment to myself that I would study at least 8 hours/day to see how long it would take for me to get my first job.

So I took about 4 months of study untill my first job. But I was checking the spreadsheet I made to control my studytime, and I realize that I studied only about 5 hours a day (wknds not included). It’s a little hard to follow the schedule when your are in home all day, you end up doing all kind of things in the house, and its time consuming lol.

Anyway, at first I started with some free online courses in SQL and programming logic and HTML. I also studyied a little about tests, because I had no clue how to get in the tecnology area. I was feeling myself very confused.

Thanks God, I dont know how I found an article in medium about Free Code Camp, and I loved it. It was september , 27, coincidently, my birthday, and I started immediatly studying it.

From 3 weeks to now, while I was listening to a brazilian front-end podcast, I figured out that I was kind of ready to apply to jr front end roles. So I started to look around some opportunities in my region.
And this was very fast for me, I applied for about 20 front end jobs. But all of them was asking for experience. But there where 2 of them that weren’t.
This 2 are publicity agencies, and they called me back to set an interview. Both agencies asked me to take a PSD and code in HTML, CSS and JS, and I made this two in one week. And one of them hired me =D. The other agency did not respond yet, but I will stay with the first one because it’s near my home.