I have an interview and a coding test, but need some specific advice

Hey guys. I’ve been learning web development and object-oriented programming for about 2 years now. I’m currently in community college getting a probably worthless certificate in programming to have any kind of education to show an employer.

I’ve been applying to jobs for about a month now, mainly in the Springfield, MO area because that’s where I want to relocate. I haven’t gotten any response until this morning when a company from that city contacted me on LinkedIn after I applied and gave me the opportunity to do a quick coding test online through their website to make sure that I have the basic skills. I googled the company and recruiter and they were all legit.

The problem is that it is routed around PHP/Wordpress development, which is something I have very little experience in. I know that I would not be able to accomplish these tasks the way they need to be unless I’m allowed extensive googling, but this is the first time I have had contact with a programmer from the area and want to establish a good connection.

Should I just attempt to accomplish the tasks, fail miserably, but tell them that I don’t have much expertise in this area of development? Or should I politely tell them that I wouldn’t be able to do the tasks but have vast knowledge in other programming areas and would love the opportunity to help them if they have other positions and see if maybe I can get my foot in the door in another way? Or should I just ignore and continue to apply to things I know I’m more comfortable with? Thanks!

I think this is your best option. If you do it, failing miserably, they probably wont contact you again, likewise if you ignore them. But if you do the above, you have at least a chance for a way in, you wont look bad, and you wont be on bad terms with the company.

Here’s something you could use:

Hello <name of person>,