I learned, and I forget. Then I get into stuck

I started learning HTML and CSS about half year ago. and I got the certification of responsive web design in freecodecamp on november 18, 2019; and then I didn’t put too much time on HTML and CSS, because I want to learn some data structure and algorithms with JavaScript; However, when I am trying to use HTML and CSS today, I found that I almost forgot all the attributes and the deployment , like I don’t know how to get started writing when I want to make web page; so I think I lost the skills I learned. it’s really make me feel frustrated. I need help and I wanna know how you guys keep the skills fresh. I really appreciate it if you could give me some suggestions or leave a comment blow.

1 Like

Practice, practice, practice, that is the only way to retain the information when you are starting out. What happened to you is completely normal and I’m sure it’s something common for a lot of people.

Just practice your HTML and CSS skills by building simple landing pages, practice until you feel comfortable with these technologies, also keep in mind that you don’t have to remember each and every HTML attribute or CSS property, nobody does. When you don’t remember a given attribute/property, you ask Google.

9 Likes

Completing the projects and actually using the skills you learn. There isn’t really any way around it, we just forget what we don’t we use daily/weekly.

1 Like

I started to use the spaced repetition software Anki to work through the FCC curriculum. Currently, I am nearing the end of JS, but I wish I had done this already with HTML/CSS. Just one link per card. I clear the code and do it again when it is due. As you answer cards correctly more often, they get scheduled later and later.

The forgetting curve is active in anybody :wink:

1 Like

That’s really cool. I’ll be using too.