I’m 22 years old and want to change my career

Hey i’m 22 years old currently working off shore on a drill ship, my current career is maritime but i REALLY want to do web development.

I feel depressed because i’m a really bad introvert and hate traveling,and my parents and friends think that i’m stupid to go from a well paying career to something i know nothing about.

What should i do :’(
(Sorry for bad English, its my second language)

Well you don’t have to totally give up your current job to study web development. Just study in your free time.
I am still a teacher even though I’ve been studying for about 8 months.

start studying programming, like now

You can’t quit your job if you don’t have some savings as you still need to feed yourself, but you can start studying and eventually freelancing on the side and also applying to jobs on the new field you want to venture into.

In addition to above posts;

Please don’t care about how people think about you if you are sure what you want to do. You showing interest in something is an involuntary process, but pursuing that interest is.

Here is the “formula” of how other people see you; they form a profile about you on their own style of thinking and their past lives. Our past experiences define how we form profiles of people around us. I urge you to consider this.

Finding support is a huge boost, but not every time you will be able to find support. Create your own support by your accomplishments I would say.

Last but not least, you have to bend your dreams to the rules of reality, if you want to see them realized.

Hope this helps.

2 Likes