IDE Recommendations?

I’m just about to launch on phase 2 of my FCC journey… Sass and REACT.js. Codepen has been a great environment for my initial HTML-CSS-JS projects but that seems to be the limit of it’s capabilities (unless I missed something fundamental). So where should I go next for an integrated development environment that gives me what I had in Codepen but can scale up for Sass, REACT and other tools/libraries I’m going to need?

I’m experimenting with WebStorm because I have some experience with PyCharm but struggling with the SASS/SCSS file watcher configs. I once installed Eclipse and NetBeans (because they were free) but never really got any traction. Or perhaps there are better suites or tool combos I haven’t discovered.

I eventually want an environment that will enable me to do both client work, including mobile devices (JS) and back-end server work (Node). Would be grateful for insights from those with more experience.

1 Like

I’ve used PhpStorm in the past, and love it. However, lately I’ve been using mostly MS Visual Studio Code and it has been fantastic. It’s free, lightweight, and built using web technology. It works great for Javascript, Node, and TypeScript. If you decide to give it a try, let me know what you think.

p.s. There is an episode of Javascript Jabber that discusses how VS:Code was made. It’s an interesting listen.

1 Like

I have visual studio and Webstorm but they both feel too slow. So far I’ve liked sublime the best.

1 Like

Visual studio, or Visual studio code ? The second one is surprisingly fast. I have been using a demo of sublime text for almost a year (shame on me) before finally getting something actually free. The transition has been painless :slight_smile:

Have a glance through this, many campers here have given their preferences for what IDE / Editor they like to use: Link…

My personal preference is WebStorm by JetBrains