I'm a new coder who has just begun my tribute page, but I feel a little lost...Is this normal?

I want to know if I should be further along and tackling this challenge easier than I actually am. It’s taking a lot of review, which I guess is like any “real” class. How’d you guys feel when you got to this point? Did you remember everything you learned from the html/css modules right away?

1 Like

Short answer: yes, totally normal. You’re going to alternate, over the next few sections, between “Gee, this is way easier than I thought it would be!” and “Gee, this is way harder than I thought it would be.” Just tell yourself that, every time you have to go back and look at something again to figure out how to make it work, that’s when you’re actually learning it.

4 Likes

Hey @wtb28,

First of all, congratulations on making it to the Tribute Page challenge.

It’s completely normal to feel that way, I’m actually on the Tribute Page too, but I’ve been a full-time web developer for the last few years. I remember when I started, it took me awhile and a lot of mistakes before HTML and CSS started to truly stick.

As @AbdiViklas said, somethings will be easier than others. The important thing is that you just keep pushing on through, and over time, you’ll find yourself getting better and better :slight_smile:

Good luck!

3 Likes

Don’t worry about it.

It’s a free course, so they don’t exactly cover everything. You’;re expected to research things on the side. And don’t be afraid to ask.Read - Search - Ask, like they say. If you keep at it, you’ll get there.

1 Like

totally normal!
I tuned up mine several times as I learned better ways of doing things haha
for example my code was messy because at first I had “style” in my html elements instead of putting all of my CSS/style on the CSS page.
Lots of Ah-Ha moments to come!