I'm a Professional Dev - And I Write Broken Code

I professionally write code for supercomputers, and I write broken, buggy code all of the time! My first attempt at any new code always has errors in it!

I mention this because I see a lot of folks saying “my code is right, but the tests aren’t passing!!”. I totally have been there, but realizing that your code is probably broken is part of becoming a professional dev!

All of us developers make broken code, and sometimes we need an extra set of eyes to help us figure it out. Coding is hard and debugging is hard, but we’re here to help!

You’ve got this!

73 Likes

13 minutes ago, the following conversation between senior developers at my company took place on the developer chat:

Dev1: BTW, I found yesterday that our angular.js tests have not always been properly failing when there is an error.
I found this as I’m updating (minor) karma modules and these tests now fully fail as the should have.

I just have to fix the broken test too…

Dev2: Yeah, Dev3 mentioned that he thinks things have been passing when they should not have.

Writing code is completely a process of Try, Fail, Try Again, Fail Better.

9 Likes

At least when code blows up you have something to go on. I love a good error, it gives me something to investigate. Silent failing is the worst.

15 Likes

Stack traces, good error messages, and print statements are my favorite debugging tools.

4 Likes

Been a full time Web Dev for almost 4 years now and still Google several things EVERY time I use them.

14 Likes