I'm new to coding, and having trouble with my initials project for cs50 in C language

When I am trying to compile my code, and make it, it is saying this " make initials
clang -fsanitize=signed-integer-overflow -fsanitize=undefined -ggdb3 -O0 -std=c11 -Wall -Werror -Wextra -Wno-sign-compare -Wshadow initials.c -lcrypt -lcs50 -lm -o initia"

Can you show the code and the commands you are using to compile it?

1 Like

yes I can,
This is my code

/*
CS50 AP Period 6
Brian Franklin
PSET1 initals
7 September 2018
*/

//Initializing the libraries
# include <stdio.h>
# include <ctype.h>
# include <string.h>

//declare function
void getInitials(char* name );

int main(){

//declaring a string, assuming that the users name doesn't exceed 40 characters
    char name[40];

//getting the users input (their full name)
    fgets(name, sizeof(name), stdin);

//Print the initials
    printf("");
    getInitials(name);

return 0;

}

void getInitials(char* name ){

int i=0;

//If the string length is greater than 0 then there is at least one character at index 0
    //and if that character is alpha numeric then it must be the first letter for the intials
    if(strlen(name) > 0 && isalpha(name[0]))
        printf("%c", toupper(name[0] ));

//while the current character in name does not equal the last character in the string 'name'
        // go through each character of the string
        while(name[i] != '\0'){

//if the character is a space, then the next character should be printed after that
            if( isspace(name[i]) != 0){

//loop all of the spaces for human input error
                while(isspace(name[i]) && i <= strlen(name)){i++;}

printf("%c", toupper(name[i+1] ));
            }

i++; //change i by 1

}
}

here are screenshots

IIRC if it shows just the long clang command after running make, then that means you’ve successfully compiled your program. There should then be a file called initials (the executable) alongside the initials.c file.