I'm self taught and I got the job, but

"So… How much they are paying for programmers without a degree?"
That came out from a co-worker last week.

I’m 34 years old employed Front End Developer from Brazil, self taught like most of you guys reading this post. No college or university degrees. A couple months ago I did this post https://forum.freecodecamp.org/t/one-year-of-fcc-gave-me-my-first-job-as-a-front-end-developer telling a little bit about my prospects after a long journey studying programming from free resources on the internet.

Now I’m part of the self taught professionals team and its a shame to state that we are at a great disadvantage. Not only by the numbers(the vast majority working on this field are graduated people), but we’re losing in opportunities too.

I don’t blame my IT friend for that statement.
He’s just expecting a better payment for his ‘plus’. The industry have been conditioning us on that way for a long time: certificates and diplomas can prove that your are better. It’s a ticket to the upper level. I understand that though.

Back then things were a lot more restricted. information didn’t flow around for free like nowdays.
I just don’t get why we can keep accepting this kind of mentality with the internet all over the place.

I’m not some subclass of employee just because my resources aren’t usual.
I’m doing great on my current job working on lots of different Front End projects. Actually, at the moment, I’m the only web front end on a team of 25 developers. People come to me to ask JS and CSS questions… But somehow it doesn’t count too munch for the ‘real world’!
I don’t deserve a chance to even be able to be heard on interviews? Or apply for positions where the prerequisites I already have?