Improve, ok, but how?

Hello to everyone.

On the advice of an old post in this forum I tryed to replicate this template http://www.os-templates.com/free-website-templates/gogopo .
I wrote almost 400 lines of code between HTML and CSS, so I try my resposive layout and it was so bad, so I took a look to at original file and it’s much more complex then mine.
I’m studying web programming for about 2 months, alternating between intensive periods and some downtime. I made the intermediate projects for the front-end certificate but I want learn how to organize a page (front-end for now), from <!DOCUMENT html> to </html>.
My question is: what can I do? Where I can improve my skills? Do I have to take a famous site and inspect it every day? How did you improve this aspect?

As a experienced .net back-end developer, I decided that was time for learning about front-end development, so I’m thrilling this path myself for the past 3 months.

I watched some online courses about html, css, JavaScript, jQuery and bootstrap. (Most of them at udemy)
Every major course section has a project or something like that. First I try to do it myself, no matter how horrible my Code turns, after that I observe how the instructor develop the solution, than I try to develop it again from scratch, learning from my mistakes.

Sometimes it can be frustrating, because you feel you are developing your skills too slow. But think in the long term… maybe a year from now you’ll be remember of today with a smile on your face.

The secret is not to give up.

3 Likes

You tried your best and you failed miserably. That’s actually a good thing and hopefully it won’t be the last time. The next step is to identify your weaknesses, and it looks like you’ve done that, too. Now you must work on them.