; in Javascript Loops - What affect does it have and why?

I’m new to Javascript and I’m very confused about the use of “;” in loops. I’ve tried to find the answer to this question and looked at it from every angle my limited knowledge will allow me, to but to no avail. The problem is that in all my learning and challenges so far, I’ve only ever seen loops use {} in the syntax.

I came across this while playing around with loops in a challenge. Below is the code I am working with and the console log results depend on whether I include the ; after the loop or not:

const    var = ["a", "b", "c", "d", "e"];
for (n  in  var) ;      *//position 1*
	console.log( var[n]) ;
        console.log(" n) ;  

Case 1: If I include it after the loop (position 1), I get a single result for each console.log:

• e

Case 2: If I don’t include it after the loop, I get all results for the first console log (a to e), but only the last result for the the second console log (index 4):

• a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e

I have two queries on this:
1. I’d like to understand what is happening when I include or don’t include ; after the loop.
2. In Case 2, I don’t know why the first console log lists all of the results, while the second one only lists the last one . I would really like to understand what is happening in the background with this and why both sets or results are not shown in their entirety.

You are getting strange looking results because you are not using {}. If you have multiple lines of code in your loop, you must use {}. JavaScript is not like Python - white space is not syntactically important. The only way for a loop to know what is contained inside of it is to 1) look for the next end of line character (; which is inserted automatically by JavaScript if you don’t put it in) or 2) to look for an enclosing {}. In case 1, only one line of code will be executed by the loop. In case 2, everything in the enclosing {} will be executed. Same thing goes for if statements.

1 Like