Intermediate Algorithm Scripting: Convert HTML Entities Bug?

Hi all. I’m new to programming but enjoying the algorithm challenges so far in javascript. I’m not sure but I think I encountered a bug since my solution works on both Repl.it and Brackets but doesn’t seem to work here. So please let me know what I am doing wrong if this is not a bug. Thank you!

function convertHTML(str) {

// :)

return str = str.replace(/&/g, '&​amp;').replace(/</g, '&​lt;').replace(/>/g, '&​gt;').replace(/"/g, '&​quot;').replace(/'/g, '&​apos;');

}

console.log(convertHTML("Hamburgers < Pizza < Tacos"));
console.log(convertHTML("Dolce & Gabbana"));
console.log(convertHTML("Sixty > twelve"));
console.log(convertHTML('Stuff in "quotation marks"'));
console.log(convertHTML("Schindler's List"));
console.log(convertHTML("<>"));

@CaraLagumen

str.replace(/&amp;/g, '&amp;​amp;')

To me, this means for all instances of &amp;in a string, replace it with &amp;​amp;. Is that what you intended? For finding ampersands in a string, the /&/g regular expression works.

Hopefully that’s enough of a hint for you to solve this.

Oops. Something went wrong with the copy paste. This isn’t what I had. I’m not sure how the amp got there for each one. Wtf. :joy: But yea, my problem should be without the amps. Let me see if I can fix this on mobile. Sorry for this. But my first point should still stand that my solution couldn’t work.

This is what I had.:sweat_smile:

// &colon;&rpar;
  return str = str.replace(/&/g, '&​amp;').replace(/</g, '&​lt;').replace(/>/g, '&​gt;').replace(/"/g, '&​quot;').replace(/'/g, '&​apos;');
}

@CaraLagumen it appears to be something with the copy/paste that’s messing things up. When I copy/paste your code into the challenge editor, all the tests fail. When I delete and re-type your HTML codes (i.e. '&lt;') in the editor to match what you have, the tests pass. I don’t think this is a bug with the challenge, but is something strange happening with the copy/paste instead.