Is it me or all of us?

I have a problem,
I studied tons of web development courses on many platforms free and paid, during the course I feel like I have a full grasp on the subject. I follow the tutor and write every line of code he wrote, and when I see the results on the screen I feel awesome :sunglasses: but after a while I forget everything :sweat_smile: and I feel depressed that I had to start from the beginning.
I think Iā€™m still a beginner after two years of teaching myself coding which is a long time. I donā€™t want to give up but sometimes I feel like I have to.

6 Likes

This stood out to meā€¦between the courses and writing the code your tutor writes, have you branched out on your own to start a project and writing your own code? Cause that is how you will learn 100%ā€¦by doing. Its great to see how something is done, but then at some point ya gotta fly! :smiley:

Here on FCC, the responsive web design projects are the first and most basicā€¦have you done those yet? If so, find a site you like and recreate itā€¦not the whole functionality, just the layout and design of it to get practice with your html and css. You will learn through repetitionā€¦the more you do something, the more it will stick in your mind. Anything you find yourself constantly looking up, create a cheat sheet to jot that info down. Eventually, youā€™ll find yourself referring to it less and lessā€¦and its a huge morale boost to look back on your notes of things you needed help remembering, and seeing how far youve come because in time, it will seem so easy to you and you just know it.

So yeah, dont start from scratch over and again, dont copy lines of code, start something, even if you have to google every single thing you do to complete the project, or ask a lot of questions, you will have learned so much, and cemented it in your mind from the work and effort that went into itā€¦