Is MDN a good place to learn Advanced JS or Codewars

Hi,

I have been trying to learn JS for last 4 months with very little success , here is what i had been doing in –

1)I purchased a course on udemy for JS , it goes deep in JS working like hoisting , scope, prototype etc

1. I read you don’t know javascript series , again really deep in to working of JS …

3)I have gone through w3school , some books like The good parts etc what not, every day i am studying …

4)Ofcourse at FCC i practice regularly …

5)I became member at codewars , really too tough …

But my problem is when i am faced with a problem i cannot think of a good solution i do not understand what to do …

Now i came across MDN as most extensive place to learn all features of JS , it will take me a month atleast to cover it …

Should i learn at MDN or keep working at codewars …

Any advice will really help me … Thanks

MDN is useful all the time to anyone who uses JS, regardless of skill level. It’s the best JS reference available. But learning to program using it is learning a language by reading the dictionary. It’s a reference, not a manual: MDN is not there to teach you how to write good programs

8 Likes

From what you said OP, it seems that your strategy for improving your problem solving is to go away and study hard. But what you are studying isn’t problem solving itself, which is the thing you should be focusing on. I don’t know offhand of any resources to help you in this respect. You could search for some. What I find helpful myself is to draw pictures to help me visualize the problem and solution. Also, breaking down the problem into little pieces helps you to create a good idea of the process you need to follow to create your solution.

3 Likes