Is my skillset enough to land me a job?

Hi, I’m a junior frontend web developer and I’m trying to find work. However, I’m not sure if my skillset is big enough to get me a job. These are my skills:

• HTML5

• CSS3

• SASS & SCSS

• Gulp

• Git

• JavaScript

• jQuery

• AJAX

I haven’t made a portfolio website yet because I don’t know if I should first learn more technologies or look for a job with the ones I have right now.

Building a portfolio is always a good first step to take plus you got a lot to show on there, if you want you can start applying the moment you have your portfolio done. Just FYI junior developers go through TONS of applications before getting a job but it does not hurt to apply.

1 Like

Just Build Projects.
Number one moto. You can learn all the technologies you want, but if you cant show what you know and that you can apply your knowledge, it doesn’t mean anything. Just words on a paper.

Make your portfolio. Nothing to loose in practice. Or make anywebsite that you want to see made. Replicate a website if you dont have a website you want to make. Just make stuff.

And then you wont have to ask. Or maybe you will, but you’ll already have a pretty good idea of the answer.

2 Likes

I made quite a few websites but I wonder if I should make a portfolio and find a job with listed skills or should I learn more first

If your proficient in the stuff you listed, mainly JS, HTML5/CSS preferably together, and jQuery, then you already know enough to get a job.

EDIT. But thats not enough to go on. Gotta see some projects otherwise its like saying… you can cook spaghetti? and toast? yea you can get a job as a chef.

Almost all the jobs I see on sites are wanting people who know something like react or angular and sometimes vue.