Is React more complicated than JQuery for most people?

Is React more complicated than JQuery for most people?

I’ve being trying to learn React for the past month and am finding it a lot more difficult compared to jQuery. With jQuery I seemed to progress and understand concepts quite quickly, whereas with React anything more complex than absolute beginner stuff becomes much too difficult to grasp. I’m around half-way through the complete React web developer Udemy course (highly recommended by all developers who were new to React, in order to understand the framework better), but as soon as the teacher moved beyond the basic stage of state and props, all of React’s concepts, syntax, logic, and everything else began to appear way more complicated than I suspect they should be. This is probably one of the reasons why I’ve been stuck on the Markdown Previewer for over a month, and all the other React projects aren’t faring any better.

I wanted to know if this is the general consensus on FCC that React is indeed complicated to understand and program in as compared to jQuery or if its more in the line of “it’s different for every person”?

It’s different, not necessarily harder. It is different enough that people initially didn’t like using it, but the developers seem to have gotten over that.

Full disclosure, due to the time I began learning web development, I learned React first and JQuery later out of necessity.