Is web development the right path for me?

My goal is to get a job as a coder. I am new to freecodecamp but i have experience making games in unity with C# and also with javascript but I don’t want to work in the video game industry. I think doing freecodecamp will be a good path for me to get a job. My problem though is that i really don’t like any sort of design. I don’t like html/css. I don’t like making things look pretty and aligning them. I am mostly interested in javascript. I have started the first two projects of making a portfolio page and the tribute page and those are so boring to me since all of it is not even real coding. Is this the right path for me or should i look into something else in the computer science field rather than web development

1 Like

If you don’t like design, you could always go for Backend Web development. Node.js is javascript for servers so you can look at that.

Whatever you end up doing, make sure you have an interest in it. Don’t do something just so that you’d get a job doing something you’d hate.

thanks! I really just dislike css/html. I like coding in pretty much any other language. I just don’t want any more than 5 to 10% of my work to be involved with css and html. Should i still continue with freecodecamp then?

if you want you can but just do the backend section and then decide

Well if you want to stay with C# ASP.net is Microsoft’s solution for web development on the back end but last I checked even they were recommending jQuery and Angular.js for front end. So freeCodeCamp could teach you useful skills even if you don’t want to make it your main focus.

I share your distaste for design (or maybe I’m just not very good at it :wink: It is possible to get jobs which are solely “real” coding but understanding design principles is still something you should know IMO.