Iterate through multiple arrays simultaneously - plz help

I am trying to clean up my html code by not being repetative using jquery. I have 4 videos I want to embed on my portfolio page. I have created 2 arrays, one that stores the video names (vidName) and one that stores the video source (vidSrc). I tried using .each() along with .concat() to iterate through both arrays and .append() them to the html. The videos displayed like I wanted in the DOM, but it also displayed 4 other vid windows underneath that are blank. I am fairly new to code so there is probably an easy solution to get rid of the blank windows, I just can’t wrap my head around it. I also have 6 thumbnails I want to do something similar with, however I will have 3 arrays to work with for those (1 for name, 1 for href, and 1 for image source). I haven’t tried to tackle the thumbnail problem yet, I am hoping the solution to my first problem will help with those.

Here is the code I have used for the videos:

(note: I have the width and height of the iframe set in the real code file, I had to condense to get everything important in the screen shot)

Any help would be greatly appreciated

By using concat you have created an array with length 8;

therefore you are looping in that array producing 4 undefined results since vidName[4], vidName[5] ... and src[4], src[5]... does not exists.

The easies solution, assuming that the length of the vidName and the source match (ie for each video there’s a source defined) is a simple for loop that iterates as:

for(var i = 0; i < vidName.length; i++ ) {
 // your append function
}

Out of curiosity, is the two array a mandatory requirement or is your design choice?
If I had control over those data I’d rather have an object as:

var myVideos = {
// vidName: source;
video1: source1;
video2: 'www.youtube.com/blabla'
}

or at the very least an array of array:

[ [name, source], [name, source] ...]
2 Likes