Javascript developer prepping for Java Interview!

Hey everybody!

I have a bit of an interesting story. I started studying FCC back in May, and in the last 6 months I’ve been spending most all of my free time programming, managing to code some full-stack applications that I’m proud of to boost my confidence and my portfolio. I’ve been applying for jobs the last few months but haven’t gotten past the phone screen stage.

About a month ago I applied for a “entry level application developer” job which listed many technologies. They called for people with any experience in “COBOL, VIsual Basic, C++, SAS, Java/Javascript, JSON, SQL…etc etc…” so I applied. I got a phone interview with them and they explained they use a Java/SQL stack. I was honest in explaining that all my experience was with the MEAN stack, I have basically zero Java experience, save some college courses I took many years ago. I figured they would pass on me as an applicant, but I just got an email that they’d like to see me for an in-person interview!

So, my question: I have about a week to prepare for my first ever in-person software engineering interview, in a programming language I have basically zero experience with! Any advice on the best way to go about preparing for this? I was going to spend lots of time studying algorithm/data structures, since those can apply to any language. Any tips or advice on Java that I should know going into this?

Thank you for any help you might have. Reading through these forms has provided invaluable help and support over the last few months, and I’m excited to see where my journey leads in the near future.

Just because they run a java/sql stack doesn’t necessarily mean that’s what you have to interview in. In general, companies will let you interview using whatever language you are most comfortable (unless they are looking for something specific, like a Java Tech Lead or something).