JavaScript & jquery by Jon Ducket out of date?

Ok so I am brand new to JavaScript, I got Jon Duckets book and I’m going through one of the first examples which I could not get to work, here is my code and how I fixed it.

Constructive & Co.
<h1>Constructive &amp; Co.</h1>
<script src="js/add-content.js"></script>
<p>For all orders and inquiries please call <em>555-3344</em></p>

var today = new Date ();
var hourNow = today.getHours();
var greeting;

if (hourNow > 18) {
greeting = ‘Good evening!’;
} else if (hourNow > 12) {
greeting = ‘Good afternoon!’;
} else if (hourNow > 0); {
greeting = ‘Good morning!’;
} else {
greeting = ‘Weclcome!’;
}

document.write(’

’ + greeting + ‘

’);

I ran that through codepen and got an error index.js: Unexpected token (11:2) so I removed the “else” on line 11 and it now seems to work.

So my question is, is this out of date? Or am I missing something? I’ve just started learning JavaScript so I don’t really have a lot of knowledge to pull from.

You have a semicolon here that should not be there.

else if (hourNow > 0);

1 Like

One of your issues will likely be this:

<script src="js/add-content.js"></script>

it will look for a folder called js with a file named add-content.js from wherever you run this script from.

To answer the question on two levels:

• The book was printed in 2013, so yes technically it could be considered out of date. The book covers the ES5 version of JavaScript, which is still widely in use, but ES6 is also widely in use today now too. And although many websites stll use jQuery, it’s considered an “old” technology now.
  • That said, the code in the book should still work (any errata aside) and you shouldn’t have any issues with it. You’ll just be using older version of some things, like jQuery.