Job while I study to change to Web Dev?

I’m a IT grad whose first helpdesk contract got cut due to COVID-19. Over a month later and I am having a hard time getting IT work. Thankfully I have been getting unemployment and I have money saved. Today two recruiters reached out, but the pattern is that companies are opting for more experienced candidates. When everyone starts getting laid off and less jobs are available the competition skyrockets.

I honestly do not want to work in IT and do not like help desk. I’ve thought about being a web dev all through college and I decided that I want to pursue it. Been studying for about a month daily while unemployed.

Maybe I should get something else and stick with it until I can find a job in Web dev?
I am concerned about pay though. surviving a year or two on minimum wage probably isnt realistic.

I’ve thought about doing lawn care, but I am concerned it will totally wipe me out. I could go get a easy minimum wage job(not that they are all easy), but man that will be cutting it close with the bills.

The upside of a easier job is the ability to focus more on web dev. If I go back to help desk I will be more distracted, but will make more money.

Any advice on work I could do?

fyi. I am single and only financially responsible for myself. Rent is $600 and I have about 7k in the bank. I live in Raleigh where I’m renting from a guy my age. I just dont want to lose all my money by doing something stupid lol.

Sounds like you got plenty in the bank. Work part time at a min wage job to stay afloat, and in your free time study webdev.
I’ve been doing that for about a year, except I have been working full time. It’s tiring and you have to really push yourself to code.