Just got my new dev job~!

Just got my new dev job~!

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting but I have been doing free code camp since September.

Here’s an outline of my journey thus far:

1. Did games programming at a private college and quit nearly a year in. :stop_sign:
  2. Worked at a six person start up making menu applications for clients
  3. Started a bachelor in game development
  4. Quit the job in point 3 after a year to work at a company that makes educational applications for children.
  5. Attempting to transfer to a bachelor of computer science for 2018.
  6. Got an offer for a data security job doing fullstack and quit the job in point number 4 after a year.

Here are some of my experiences throughout the process:
:star2: I tried to get a job in japan doing development work.
I applied from July through to September to no avail. Turns out that development jobs in Japan are hard to get for individuals who are not fluent in Japanese. Also, I only got a response from one company after emailing them regarding their position three times.
My suggestion would be to look on the website Glassdoor and potentially inspire (with google translate on) to apply. The best thing you could actually do instead of apply online is going to Japan yourself and meeting with other developers in major cities (such as Tokyo, Osaka etc.). If you take the initiative to go there yourself, companies are more likely to help you get your visa.
Doing tech courses such as General Assembly and Code Chrysalis are a great way to get your foot into the door as well. I definitely recommend you check out Code Chrysalis as they are a 12 week program that is aimed towards teaching advanced JS concepts and is all in English.

:star2: My applications seemed to go to recruiters the majority of the time.