Just starting here

Hi i have been dipping my toes into to code for about six months and have hit the point where i feel i am serious about it and was wondering what other sources any of you have used, i tried free videos on udemy and did code academy, but dont 100% know what language i want the most i feel that JavaScript is the best place for me to truly gain a deeper understanding of code and from there i may choose a diferent language to focus my energy and attention on, sorry i rambled; its a deepseeded isue of mine but ** my primary question after all of that was what books or other websites do you feel helped or are helping you to progress on understanding and application of JavaScript **
thank you so much in advance for reading this and replying either or!

My dear @888Owl, I came to this platform with similar mindset but gradually I’ve started seeing reasons why I need to take it step by step. Am sure there are senior members that has been on similar path that can throw more insight and shed more light. It’s nice having you here

Hi and welcome!

Firstly, what is your intention and why do you want to learn code? Obviously you would have realized there are many different languages, and have their own benefits for specific things.

If people are starting out and don’t specifically know what they want to do, then I will always recommend to learn Python. In the UK, there is a movement to get kids into code and Python is at the forefront of this for good reason. The syntax is simple, yet it is easy to achieve a lot in not much code. I actually spent some time with Python before starting my code journey after a ten year break (I used to code in C,VBasic and Pascal) and have loved it. It came to my mind then that I wanted to focus on web dev and app creation, so have spent some time with CSS/JS and am now looking to concentrate my efforts onto React specifically as well as Swift.